It Takes Time….

I spent the whole day Saturday learning how to crochet different patterns and little flowers. I must say that i became so frustrated at one point that I swore I would never crochet again. But, lets be honest. I did crochet again. And when I finished I had made the flowers I wanted to make and a sense of pride in my accomplishment flooded over me, as is common in such instances. But it took hours to learn one flower pattern. Now that I am familiar with the pattern it won’t take nearly as much time and I will get faster and faster as I keep making them.
One of the things I noticed after doing this project was that a lot of things in my life right now are like that little flower. It takes so much time to get to the point where I am proud of what I’ve accomplished, and sometimes I get so frustrated I want to give up for good, but if I just hold out till the end and keep going, it might end up being something beautiful. I just have to take a break and then when I come back to the “flower” I will have a fresh perspective of what I need to do.
And sometimes the only way to get through the “flower” you’re working on is to watch a tutorial, and get help and advice from someone who knows more about what you’re dealing with. That is literally the only way I got through the flower project at first. I had to go back over the tutorial over and over again, tip I finally could relate what was being said to what I was trying to do. It makes me think about when my Mom would correct me. She was there to help me make the flower of my life. Yes I made so many mistakes but she was always there to help me see where I had made the mistake and try and correct it. She was my tutorial.
Now that I am on my own, I have to make my own tutorial. By seeing what works and what doesn’t, and rely on the flower I made in the first part of my life, to help me make the flower in my life now.
What will your flower look like?

IMG_5023

2 thoughts on “It Takes Time….

Leave a comment